REIMERS CONSULT Company Logo

REIMERS CONSULT GmbH

Home Feedback Contents

RC.Dbo Tutorial

HOME
Up

RC.Dbo Download

RC.Dbo Product Logo medium

Object oriented view on relational data



Content


Introduction

This tutorial gives a short introduction into the usage of the C# class library RC.Dbo. The first step explains common issues. Then a small example shows a way, how an application can build upon RC.Dbo. The example application is written in C#. It is a simple console program, that deletes the content of a table, inserts two new rows and finally prints the new content of the table to the console. The source code of the program can be found here. Parts of the source code explained in this tutorial are written in Courier New with grey background.

to top


Requirements

to top


Common issues to RC.Dbo

RC.Dbo is a class library for object oriented projection of database contents to classes. Internally the potential of RC.Sql is used. The full advantages of RC.Sql migrate into RC.Dbo (e.g. the independence from the driver-implementation of different databases).
An application using RC.Dbo for database access is fundamentally divided into four parts: Dom-class, Ref-class, Dbi-class and application logic.
For each table a Dom-class must be implemented. In a Dom-class the columns of the table are defined as properties.
The Ref-class is an interface from the application logic to instances of the Dom-classes.
The Dbi-class is the interface from the application to the database.
The first step in an application to get database access is to create an RcsqlDatabase instance for this database. This instance is to be given to the Dbi-class. After that data manipulation can be done using the Ref-classes. Each Ref-class uses the appropriate Dom-class which represents the data from a certain database table.

to top


Example Application

This example works with a table named USER contained in a Microsoft Access database. The table consists of the columns USER_RECNO, USER_ID, USER_NAME. USER_RECNO is the primary key and is generated automatically (Autokey). USER_ID is defined as unique.
For the sake of a clear overview all database specific parameters are outsourced into an own file (DBInfo).
Dom-class
The Dom-class itself and its column properties have attributes. The class-attributes are used by the Library and especially the MapGenerator. The property attributes are used by the MapGenerator only.
[RcdboSqlDom ( DBInfo.tableName, typeof( MyDbi ), typeof( BenutzerRef ) )]
[RcdboSqlDomPrimaryKey ( DBInfo.columnRecno )]
The column of a table is implemented by a property of the Dom-class. It is designated as column property by assigning a ColumnAttribute. The MapGenerator gets access to this property using the attribute, too. The application gets access to the property by defining the get- and set-methods within.
[RcdboSqlDomColumn ( DBInfo.columnRecno )]
public RcsqlLong Recno {
   get { return recno; }
   set { recno = value; }
}
Ref-class
For each Dom-class an appropriate Ref-class must be implemented. All constructors must be overridden. They all need to get the type of the Dom-class for which the Ref-class is the interface (see source code).
The property Dbi must be implemented to avoid typecasts from RcdboDbi to the derived Dbi-class.
static public new MyDbi Dbi {...}
Access to the represented Dom-object is granted by using the property Obj.
public BenutzerDom Obj {
    get { return (BenutzerDom)DomObj; } }
Dbi-class
In the first line the custom implementation of the Dbi-class embeds the database parameters into the application. RC.Dbo gets the database classes on database access from the Dbi-class.
public class MyDbi : RcdboDbi {
    public MyDbi ( Type domType ) : base ( domType ) { }
    public override RcsqlDatabase Database {
        get { return DBInfo.Database; }
    }
The Example Application
The application executes the following action-sequence: Delete the content of the table, insert two rows into the table, print the new content to the console, update one row and print the whole content to the console again.

Delete
In order to delete a row from the table a reference to the desired row must be fetched. This reference is implemented in a Ref-class, so the result of getting a reference is a Ref-object. For deleting the specific row, the Delete-method from the Ref-object must be called. For deleting the complete table content the Ref-objects for all rows must be fetched and their Delete-methods called.
refs = BenutzerRef.Dbi.Read( dboConn, new RcsqlExpr(), null );
foreach ( RcdboRef rcdboRef in refs )
    rcdboRef.Delete();


The data of a row is represented by a corresponding Dom-instance. To get an empty Dom-object the CreateNewDom-method within the Ref-class is used. The Dom-object can then be filled with values using the Ref-class. To finally write the data into the database the Write-method is called.
BenutzerRef benRef = new BenutzerRef(null, dboConn);
benRef.CreateNewDom();
benRef.Obj.Id = "TU3";
benRef.Obj.Name = "Test User3";
benRef.Write();

Select
For viewing rows in the first place their references (Ref-classes) are read. The result is an ArrayList of Ref-objects. Every Ref-object has a link to the corresponding Dom-object. After that this list is processed in a sequent way and written to the output device element by element.
RcsqlOrderByList orderBy = new RcsqlOrderByList();
orderBy.Add(BenutzerRef.Dbi.Column("Name"), true);
refs = BenutzerRef.Dbi.Read( dboConn, new RcsqlExpr(), orderBy );
foreach ( BenutzerRef benutzerRef in refs )
Console.WriteLine(benutzerRef.Obj.Recno + " " + benutzerRef.Obj.Id + " " + benutzerRef.Obj.Name);

Update
To change the content of a row the first step is to read it from the table as a Dom-object. The corresponding Ref-object grants methods and properties to change the content and write it back to the data storage.
benRef = (BenutzerRef)BenutzerRef.Dbi.ReadFirst(dboConn, BenutzerRef.Dbi.Column("Id") == "TU4");
benRef.Obj.Name = "Test-User4";
benRef.Write();

to top


Troubleshooting

RC.Dbo and RC.Sql in GAC
To enable an application to use a class library, which doesn't belong to the standard .NET framework nor it is located in the application's directory, it must be registered in the Global Assembly Cache (GAC). For the reason, that RC.Dbo and RC.Sql are licensed in the meaning of the .NET framework, the license implementation must be present at the same location as the class library files (dll-files).
valid license for RC.Dbo and RC.Sql
The class libraries RC.Dbo and RC.Sql are licensed in the context of the .NET framework. On any call of the licensed classes it will be checked, if a valid license is available. The license-files (RCDbo.lic and RCSql.lic) must be present in the same location as their corresponding class library file (like RC.Dbo.dll). If this is not the case, an exception is thrown at runtime.
Help-file for licensing in the application's source directory
On compile time the help-file for licensing (licenses.licx) for RC.Dbo and RC.Sql must be present in the source directory of the application. Microsoft Visual Studio .NET and corresponding Borland products use this file to determine, which classes in which library are licensed. With this information the license compiler is executed for these classes.
Database connection
The example shown above cannot be executed, if no connection to a database can be established. If this situation appears, in most cases the reason lies in invalid database parameters.

to top

REIMERS CONSULT Company Logo

REIMERS CONSULT GmbH

Home Feedback Contents

RC.Dbo Tutorial

RC.Dbo Product Logo medium

Objektorientierte Sicht auf relationale Daten



Inhalt


Einleitung

Dieses Tutorial bietet eine knappe Einführung in die Gebrauchsweise der C# Klassenbibliothek RC.Dbo. Es geht zuerst auf ein paar allgemeine Sachverhalte ein und erklärt anschließend an einem kleinen Beispiel, wie eine Anwendung aufbauend auf RC.Dbo aussehen kann. Die Beispielanwendung ist in C# geschrieben. Es handelt sich um ein einfaches Programm mit Konsolenausgabe, das den Inhalt einer Tabelle löscht, zwei Datensätze in die Tabelle schreibt und anschließend den Inhalt der Tabelle in der Konsole ausgibt. Den Quelltext zu dem Beispiel finden Sie hier. Abschnitte des Quelltextes, die sich in diesem Tutorial befinden, sind grau unterlegt und in der Schriftart Courier.

nach oben


Voraussetzungen

  • installierte Version von RC.Dbo und RC.Sql
  • gültige Lizenz von RC.Dbo und RC.Sql (Test- oder Entwicklerlizenz). Zu näheren Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte unseren Support (siehe Hauptseite RC.Dbo).
  • Microsoft .NET Framework SDK Version 1.1
  • vorhandene Datenbank mit mindestens einer Tabelle. Die Datenbank muss auf dem Rechner, auf dem die Beispielanwendung ausgeführt werden soll, eingerichtet sein.
  • Grundkenntnisse im Programmieren allgemein und speziell in C#

nach oben


Allgemeines zu RC.Dbo

RC.Dbo ist eine Klassenbibliothek zur objektorientierten Abbildung von Datenbankinhalten. Intern werden für Datenbankzugriffe die Möglichkeiten von RC.Sql benutzt. Die Vorteile von RC.Sql kommen also auch hier zum Tragen (z.B. Unabhängigkeit von Treiberimplementierungen von verschiedenen Datenbanken).
Eine Anwendung, die RC.Dbo für Datenbankzugriffe benutzt, besteht im Wesentlichen aus den vier Teilen Dom-Klasse, Ref-Klasse, Dbi-Klasse und aus der Anwendungslogik.
In der Dom-Klasse werden für jede Tabelle die Spalten als Eigenschaften der Klasse definiert.
Die Ref-Klasse ist die Schnittstelle der Anwendungslogik zu Instanzen der Dom-Klasse.
Die Dbi-Klasse ist die Schnittstelle der Anwendungslogik zur Datenbank.
Eine Anwendung muss zuerst eine Instanz der RcsqlDatabase erzeugen und der Dbi-Klasse zur Verfügung stellen. Danach kann über die Ref-Klasse jede Datenmanipulation in der durch die entsprechende Dom-Klasse repräsentierten Tabelle vorgenommen werden.

nach oben


Beispielprogramm

Das Beispielprogramm bezieht sich auf eine Tabelle namens BENUTZER in einer Microsoft  Access Datenbank. Die Tabelle besteht aus den Spalten USER_RECNO, USER_USERID und USER_NAME. USER_RECNO ist der Primärschlüssel eines Datensatzes und wird von der Tabelle automatisch beim Einfügen erzeugt. USER_USERID ist als UNIQUE definiert.
Aus Gründen der Übersicht sind alle datenbankrelevanten Parameter in einer eigenen Klasse untergebracht (DBInfo).
Dom-Klasse
Die Dom-Klasse selbst und die Spalteneigenschaften sind mit Attributen versehen. Die Klassenattribute werden von der Library und dem MapGenerator benötigt, die Eigenschaftsattribute nur vom Generator.
[RcdboSqlDom ( DBInfo.tableName, typeof( MyDbi ), typeof( BenutzerRef ) )]
[RcdboSqlDomPrimaryKey ( DBInfo.columnRecno )]
Die Spalte einer Tabelle wird als Eigenschaft in der Dom-Klasse realisiert. Mit einen ColumnAttribute wird sie als Spalte ausgezeichnet und für den Generator zugänglich gemacht. Über die get- und set-Funktionen greift die Anwendung auf die Spalteninhalte zu.
[RcdboSqlDomColumn ( DBInfo.columnRecno )]
public RcsqlLong Recno {
   get { return recno; }
   set { recno = value; }
}
Ref-Klasse
Da für jede Dom-Klasse eine Ref-Klasse als Schnittstelle zur Anwendung implementiert werden muss, überschreibt sie alle Konstruktoren mit dem Typ der entsprechenden Dom-Klasse (siehe Quelletext).
Durch die Eigenschaft Dbi werden in der Anwendung Typecasts von RcdboDbi auf MyDbi vermieden.
static public new MyDbi Dbi {...}
Der Zugriff auf das durch diese Klasse repräsentierte Dom-Objekt erfolgt durch die Eigenschaft Obj.
public BenutzerDom Obj {
    get { return (BenutzerDom)DomObj; } }
Dbi-Klasse
Die Implementierung der Dbi-Klasse dient in erster Linie der Einbettung der Datenbank Parameter. RC.Dbo holt sich bei einem Datenbankzugriff die Datenbankklasse aus Dbi.
public class MyDbi : RcdboDbi {
    public MyDbi ( Type domType ) : base ( domType ) { }
    public override RcsqlDatabase Database {
        get { return DBInfo.Database; }
    }
Die Beispielanwendung
Das Programm führt folgende Aktionen hintereinander aus: Tabelleninhalt löschen, zwei Datensätze in die Tabelle schreiben, Daten lesen und anzeigen, einen Datensatz ändern und Daten erneut lesen und anzeigen.

Delete
Um einen Datensatz aus der Tabelle zu löschen muss man erst eine Referenz darauf holen. Von dem dadurch erhaltenen Ref-Objekt wird dann die Delete-Methode aufgerufen. Um den gesamten Tabelleninhalt zu löschen, werden Referenzen für jeden Datensatz geholt und anschließend gelöscht.
refs = BenutzerRef.Dbi.Read( dboConn, new RcsqlExpr(), null );
foreach ( RcdboRef rcdboRef in refs )
    rcdboRef.Delete();


Ein Datensatz der Tabelle wird durch eine entsprechende Dom-Instanz repräsentiert. Um eine leeres Dom-Objekt zu erhalten wird die CreateNewDom Methode der Ref-Klasse benutzt. Das Dom-Objekt wird mit Werten über die Ref-Klasse versorgt, und zuletzt wird die Write-Methode aufgerufen.
BenutzerRef benRef = new BenutzerRef(null, dboConn);
benRef.CreateNewDom();
benRef.Obj.Id = "TU3";
benRef.Obj.Name = "Test User3";
benRef.Write();

Select
Zum Anzeigen von Datensätzen werden zuerst über die Ref-Klasse ihre Referenzen gelesen. Das ergibt eine ArrayList mit Ref-Objekten. Jedes Ref-Objekt hat einen Verweis auf ein Dom-Objekt. Die Liste wird dann elementweise durchgegangen und ausgegeben. Hier sollen die Datensätze nach Namen sortiert gelesen werden.
RcsqlOrderByList orderBy = new RcsqlOrderByList();
orderBy.Add(BenutzerRef.Dbi.Column("Name"), true);
refs = BenutzerRef.Dbi.Read( dboConn, new RcsqlExpr(), orderBy );
foreach ( BenutzerRef benutzerRef in refs )
Console.WriteLine(benutzerRef.Obj.Recno + " " + benutzerRef.Obj.Id + " " + benutzerRef.Obj.Name);

Update
Um einen vorhandenen Datensatz zu ändern, muss er zuerst als Dom-Objekt aus der Tabelle gelesen werden. Über die entsprechende Ref-Instanz wird er geändert und anschließend wieder in die Datenbank geschrieben.
benRef = (BenutzerRef)BenutzerRef.Dbi.ReadFirst(dboConn, BenutzerRef.Dbi.Column("Id") == "TU4");
benRef.Obj.Name = "Test-User4";
benRef.Write();

nach oben


Troubleshooting

RC.Dbo und RC.Sql im GAC
Damit ein Programm eine Klassenbibliothek benutzen kann, die weder aus dem Standard-.NET Framework stammt noch im selben Verzeichnis wie die Anwendung liegt, muss die Bibliothek im Global Assembly Cache (GAC) registriert sein. Alternativ muss sich die entsprechende DLL-Datei der Bibliothek in jedem Verzeichnis stehen, aus dem eine solche Anwendung gestartet wird. Da RC.Dbo und RC.Sql lizenziert sind, muss sich auch die Lizenz-Implementierung (RC.Lic) im GAC befinden.
gültige Lizenz für RC.Dbo und RC.Sql
Die Klassenbibliotheken RC.Dbo und RC.Sql sind im Rahmen des .NET Frameworks lizenzierte Bibliotheken. Bei jedem Aufruf wird geprüft, ob eine gültige Lizenz auf dem Rechner vorliegt. Die Lizenzdateien (RCDbo.lic und RCSql.lic) müssen sich im selben Verzeichnis befinden wie RC.Sql.dll. Ist dies nicht der Fall, wird beim Ausführen eines Programms eine Exception geworfen.
Lizenzhilfedatei im Anwendungsverzeichnis
Die Lizenzhilfedatei (licenses.licx) für RC.Dbo und RC.Sql müssen sich im Quellverzeichnis der Anwendung befinden. Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003 und Borland C# Builder benutzen diese Datei, um den Lizenzkompiler des Framework mit den dort eingetragenen Klassen aufzurufen.
Datenbank Verbindung
Falls keine Verbindung zur Datenbank hergestellt werden kann, kann dieses Beispiel nicht ausgeführt werden. Falls diese Situation vorliegt, sollten die Datenbank Parameter geprüft werden.

nach oben